Uncategorized

Being accepted for who I am

I’ve always struggled with identity and having low self esteem.  I always thought I was too fat and ugly to love until I met my husband.  We were married for three years before his unexpected death of a brain aneurysm in 1994.  That significant event in my life changed me and I began to believe the lies of Satan once again.  I was not a Christian at the time so it was very easy for me to accept and believe the enemies lies about myself.

I became a Christian in 2005 and had a light bulb moment..  It was at that point in my life that God started leading me on a journey of who I am in Christ and being accepted for who I am.  I learned that it really doesn’t matter what others think of me, it is what God thinks of me that is most important.  In Christ, I am accepted!  Here are some of the attributes of my Identity through Him.

  • I am God’s Child–John 1:12
  • I am Christ’s friend–John 15:15
  • I belong to Christ–1 Corinthians 6:19-20
  • I am a saint–Ephesians 1:1
  • I’ve been adopted–Ephesians 1:5
  • I am redeemed and forgiven–Col. 1:14
  • I am established, anointed and sealed by God–2 Cor. 1:21-22

The Bible also tells me that:

  • I am salt and light
  • a branch of the true vine
  • chosen/appointed
  • a personal witness of Christ
  • God’s co-worker, and
  • that I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me [Phil. 4:13].
  • With God on my side I cannot lose. He is always faithful.

During my life, it was apparent to me that I associated beauty, size and performance as the way to acceptance.  That is what the world would have us believe are the most important things in this world.  I know I am not the only one who struggles with putting into perspective what measures our acceptance.  We are accepted not because of what we do or don’t do; we are accepted not because of our success or lack of success. We are accepted not because of who we are, but because of who God is.

God loves us with an everlasting love.  When we accept Christ into our hearts as Lord and Savior of our lives, He accepts us right then at that moment.  I may sometimes feel rejected, but how I feel is not who I am! I am acceptable and accepted — no exceptions!  And so are you!!

“Though my father and mother forsake me, the Lord will receive me” (Psalms 27:10 NIV).

 “Accept one another, then, just as Christ accepted you, in order to bring praise to God” (Romans 15:7 NIV).

One can find so many promises in the Bible about our true identity and acceptance through Jesus Christ.  It only takes dedication to read the Word of God [Bible] to uncover these truths.

John Piper once said: The more you taste the sweet joys of Jesus, the more sin will taste bitter to your soul.  Fight Satan’s taunts with God’s pleasures.”

2 thoughts on “Being accepted for who I am

  1. My dear friend – I found myself on this page and my soul was stirred by your words. Beautifully written and the depth of inspiration is heaven sent. Continue to let God use you!! Love you!! Trina

    Like

Leave a Reply

